About Me

About me
I am a Washington State native.  Yup, I was born and raised in the land of liquid sunshine.  Yes, Washington State is my home.

I have been interested in writing since I was six years old.  I have enjoyed writing on my own and have written numerous stories and poems since. I took writing classes and courses throughout school, college, and university.  I love to write and it is my passion, my hobby, and my chosen career.

I began writing professionally in 2009 when I coauthored and published The Gluten-Free Way:  My Way.  Since then, I have published articles online, in newspapers and magazines, and have written for clients in a variety of industries.

I enjoy being a writing professional, a published author, and a freelance journalist.  Please enjoy reading some of my work here on my site.  Click on a tab at the top, a topic listed on the right side bar, or do a search for more information on a topic I write about often.

I enjoy cooking, baking, gardening, photography, traveling, and visiting with close friends and family.  This website has many blog posts on our travels, our studies, and what we are cooking or baking (or both!) in the kitchen.


About my husband, Jonathan (see the Characters in My Book of Life)
Jonathan is East Coast born and has lived in Washington State since 1990.  He prefers the lack of heat plus humidity that the East Coast tends to be known for each summer. 

About our four boys (see the Characters in My Book of Life)
Our four boys are all Washington State natives like me.  We homeschool our boys.   

I love being "Mama" to my four boys.  They are a joy and a delight.  

Our family
Jonathan and I spend a good deal of our time doing family history research.  Our oldest two boys are beginning to help us with the research that we are doing.  To learn more about my love of family history, please visit our family history blog at Our Family Milli-Gram.  

My family and I have been eating gluten free since June 2001.  Have a look around and see what fun has been cooking in my kitchen!

We are active in Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts.  Jonathan is an Eagle Scout.  He and I both are adult leaders.

Our family has been doing small-scale mining since 2012.  We enjoy being able to spend time in nature.  Our boys (and us) are learning about geology, water patterns, rocks, gems, and the how-to's of small-scale mining